writing

Miss Facebook, USA

I never knew I wanted to be technologically connected until Apple created Smart technology. I was happy using a floor sized Exxon computer to do word processing. I wasn’t afraid to be replaced by computers. Bosses still needed coffee made, and phones answered. 
And then, I didn’t know I needed an  iPhone until I was gifted one. I hoped for a learning curve of a year, at least, but I grasped it in a week. It’s the updates that take time.  It’s been my best and closest friend ever since receiving it as a Christmas gift. Sometimes I sleep with it. Occasionally it acts against me, failing to make me think twice before I tweet something the world really should not learn about me. If  ISIS comes to take  over America, I’ll be rounded up through my iPhone, identified with Facechat, or via FB. 
I never knew I wanted to join Facebook until  everyone I worked with started talking about things they’d seen, or learned through long conversations with complete strangers. I love/hate Facebook, and have recently realized anything I see posted on FB is either a far left slam, or a far right assault. However, I use FB to drum up business and help ‘share” messages about pet care, dog food poisonings and lost dogs. I’m a pet care provider who uses FB to advertise for business.
I love YouTube when I watch it on FB, but I seldom go on YouTube myself. I’d like to know how to create one, but I doubt I will. My iPad has a video app which I have used often for slideshows. It’s fun, using photos you’ve taken, played to music you’ve collected thru iTunes. 
I never knew how much fun Twitter could be until I opened an account. But then my son told me I was using it for the wrong reasons, so tweeting is not my favorite social media vehicle. Unless you just got published, in which case, I’ve been told, it’s a great way to let the world know. Tweeters only go forward, never back, unlike FB users who do both. 
Three years after creating an account on Instagram, I still rarely use it. At least how half the world does. Which makes me not as social media savvy as I’d thought I was. 
But I do blog. I put off blogging two years after it became the thing for writers to do. I delayed it because once you have a following, you can’t stop blogging. I blog because all writers blogs say you must for advance PR on your own for your novel yet to be published. I blog every week, which is hard when you are also trying to finish a novel. But it’s good practice to try other genres than only fiction. But the crux of  the matter is, not only do I blog, but I also follow other bloggers who in turn follow me, and that takes time to read all those blogs. 
Pinterest is my escape from reality. I could Pinterest an entire day away, given the chance. The only part of Pinterest I don’t like is babies, because I’m 28 years past babies. Once I become a grandmama, I’ll check out the baby site. 
I didn’t know I needed an iPad until I was gifted one. Now it goes with me everywhere. My entire novel is on it in an Icloud, on my laptop screen, and in Dropbox. In fact, I won a cover for it in a tennis silent auction. It’s a Lily design,  very opposite my style in clothes or iPad c overs, but it was free. 
I read our local newspaper online, skipping past “just happening” news to Obituaries to see whom I know died. Seriously, Wedding news And Obituaries are the only reason to open up The Baltimore Sun. 
Where is this blog headed? Probably tailing me  straight to hell, which is what my sister and husband declare when I post a photo or blog they disagree with. In fact, I was stripped of my secretarial duties for the high school class of 1971 after 42 years of writing our news column.  That stung. I’d blogged – using freedom of speech – about being bullied in school, ranting about privilege and against the former bishop of Maryland who was tried and convicted of a DUI during which she hit and killed a cyclist. She went to the same school as I. My followers, some of them my classmates, read my blog and ranted to our school that I should be silenced. 
People I know can barely handle answering machines. Some don’t own a computer. Some own iPhones but never turn them on. Those who really don’t want to reconnect with you, but are afraid to say so, give you only their cell phone number, and then never pick up. And, there are others who drive me insane by failing to answer their voicemails so you cannot leave a message at all, anytime!
Where I’m going with this is that technology is here to stay. You don’t have to get with the program, but like a simple book used to enlighten you, computers and iPads and even iWatches continue to keep you abreast of weather, news, classmates’ accomplishments, and literary agents seeking a certain sort of finished novel. You can borrow books from your library for free without actually going there. You can order clothing, drugS, and sometimes entire meals online. It’s all good even if you hate to hear about mass killings right away. Society does not go backwards. The millenials won’t allow it.for the time I have left on earth, I’ve decided to embrace technology even though the narrator in my book does not. It’s sad, because there’s so much he’s missing. He nearly loses his life over this small act of stubbornness. 
cropped-mehat1.jpg
THanks for commenting, the more the merrier

